22 Summer School Holiday Events in Melbourne’s West

The Summer School Holidays are just around the corner (Saturday 22 December to Sunday 29 January 2019) so now’s the time to start planning your family fun in Melbourne’s west!

Joyce Watts from the popular Melbourne-based family travel blog TOT: HOT OR NOT has compiled a list of her top 22 school holiday events and activities happening in Brimbank, Hobsons Bay, Melton, Moonee Valley, Wyndham and Maribyrnong.

Some are free or low cost and some may require bookings in advance.

1 ~ National Geographic Kids: Weird and Wild at Werribee Zoo (Sat 1 Dec – Thu 28 Feb) – brand new, limited-time interactive installation based on facts about animals by National Geographic Kids.

2 ~ The Art Factory Essendon (Mon 17 Dec – Fri 25 Jan) – various art activities and workshops.

3 ~ MAC Christmas Party (Sat 22 Dec) – pool inflatables, jumping castle, roving performers such as Santa and MACqua Man along with free giveaways.

4 ~ Scienceworks (Wed 26 Dec – Sun 29 Jan) – There’s plenty of lunar fun to be had at Scienceworks these school holidays! In addition to extra shows and experiences, why not travel to the moon and back in a free daily amphitheatre show, handle moon rocks and meteorites, settle down in the moonlight with a good book or get moon-ving and shaking with a groovy dance activity? Plus, be one of the first to try out a new and exciting VR experience, Earthlight: Lunar Hub.

5 ~ New Years Eve Footscray Park (Mon 31 Dec) – billed as Victoria’s second-biggest NYE celebration, the evening features entertainment plus food trucks, carnival games and rides and of course fireworks.

6 ~ NGV Kids On Tour: Make Believe (Sat 5 Jan – Sun 13 Jan) – NGV Kids On Tour is an NGV initiative which invites children and families throughout regional and metropolitan Victoria to engage with art through a range of free hands-on activities and workshops. Melton Library 8 Jan.  Caroline Springs Library 9 JanOr find another local participating venue.

7 ~ St Albans Lunar Festival (Sun 6 Jan) – stalls, food, entertainment, community information, bands, rides, fireworks and dancing.

8 ~ Rampfest School Holiday Camps (Mon 7 Jan – Wed 23 Jan) – 3-day School Holiday Program where we’ll take the kids off your hands for the day, show them some cool tricks, provide them with lunch, and just generally have a rad time!

9 ~ Holiday Playgym (Thu 10 Jan, Wed 23 Jan) – gymnastics class where boys and girls 18mths-6yrs can have fun balancing, rolling, jumping, climbing, hanging and swinging on the equipment.

10 ~ Summer of Art (Thu 10 Jan – Wed 23 Jan) – Celebrate the world of street art this summer with a wide range of workshops suitable for all ages.

11 ~ Melton Food Truck Park (Fri 11 Jan) – Why cook when someone else can do the work for you. A range of Cultural Delights, dietary requirements considered. Navan Park has an awesome playground too.

12 ~ East Meets West Lunar New Year Festival (Sun 13 Jan) – This long-established festival brings the streets of Footscray to life with the sights, sounds and smells of Vietnamese and Asian cultures.

13 ~ So Frenchy So Chic (Sun 13 Jan) – French themed outdoor live music experience with entertainment, fun activities and plentiful feasting options. Kids get in free.

14 ~ Miss Biscuit (Mon 14 Jan, Tue 22 Jan) – Baking and biscuit decorating workshop for 6-12 years.

15 ~ Footscray City Gymnastics Club (Mon 14 Jan – Fri 25 Jan) – various workshops and daily open gym.

16 ~ Footscray Community Arts Centre (Tue 15 Jan – Thu 17 Jan) – full day ‘Extreme Arts’ and Theatre Intensive

17 ~ 100 Story Building (Tue 15 Jan – Thu 24 Jan) – writing workshops for kids 7+ years.

18 ~ Werribee Pop Up Park (Fri 18 Jan – Sun 24 Feb) – A green city oasis, with comfy deckchairs, umbrellas and lawn games. Kate Ceberano will open the free Friday Night Live concert series, On Saturdays the WBTA will host a Makers Market before the park is transformed into an Outdoor Cinema, Street Food Sundays will return with the opportunity to try a different cuisine every Sunday along with live music, traditional dancing and themed kids craft.

19 ~ In2Tennis (Fri 18 Jan – Sun 27 Jan) – In2Tennis is a 10-day festival of FREE tennis activities across all Brimbank tennis clubs. Activities include Club Open Days, Hot Shots, Cardio Tennis, Adult Group Coaching plus heaps more.

20 ~ Sarah & Duck’s Big Top Birthday Clocktower Centre (Tue 22 Jan – Thu 24 Jan) – The enchanting world of the CBeebies’ hit animated series Sarah & Duck will be brought to life on stage for the first time in Australia.

21 ~ Sunset Cinema (Thu 24 Jan – Sun 17 Feb) – Commonwealth Reserve in Williamstown will come to life this summer with outdoor cinema.

22 ~ Australia Day in Wyndham (Sat 26 Jan) – ‘Spin around’ with 100% Kylie and a full stage line up of great music acts, chill out in the Pop Up Park, food trucks, enjoy the great Aussie movie ‘Babe’, amusement rides, kid’s activities and The Makers Market.

As well as these events don’t forget to check what’s on at your local library and community centre!

Joyce Watts helps families have more fun together! Her blog TOT: HOT OR NOT reviews things to do and places to go with kids in Melbourne, Regional Victoria and beyond. Sign up to her weekly newsletter here and follow her family’s adventures on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Pinterest.